Hardik Pandya to lead T20Is against Sri Lanka, Rohit Sharma to captain in ODIs – Flying Journals

Star all-rounder Hardik Pandya will lead the Indian cricket team in a three-match T20I series against Sri Lanka in Mumbai on January 3, the BCCI announced in a statement on Tuesday night. Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, KL Rahul are not part of the T20I squad. From January 10, Rohit will lead India against the same opponents in the ODI series. While Suryakumar Yadav will be the vice-captain for the T20I series, Hardik will be Rohit’s second-in-command for the ODI series.

While Rohit is still recovering from a thumb injury, the BCCI press release did not say whether Pandya’s appointment is a permanent change or just for one series.

The most notable absentee from both teams was Rishabh Pant, who was part of India’s recent Test series win over Bangladesh. Wicketkeeper-batter Ishan Kishan has been included in the ODI and T20I squads. Rahul, who is not part of the T20I squad, was named as the goalkeeper in the ODIs. Another major omission is Shikhar Dhawan from the ODI team.

Hardik’s promotion to T20I captain while serving as Rohit’s second-in-command in ODIs could be taken as a hint of the transition the team might experience in the coming months.

Pandya, who leads the Gujarat Titans to IPL victory in 2022, is touted as Rohit’s replacement after India’s T20 World Cup semi-final loss to England. The T20I team has a new look as two uncapped strikers Shivam Mavi and Mukesh Kumar are brought in for the shortest format.

Mavi was picked by Titans for Rs 6 crore while Bengal’s Mukesh was signed by Delhi Capitals for Rs 5.5 lakh. Ruturaj Gaikwad and Rahul Tripathi, two formidable IPL performers, entered the T20I side.

The ODI side had a more experienced appearance, with Mohammad Shami returning from a shoulder injury.

Team India’s Sri Lanka T20Is: Hardik Pandya (captain), Ishan Kishan (week), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Shubman Gill, Suryakumar Yadav (VC), Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Sanju Samson, Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Axar Patel, Arshdeep Singh, Harshal Patel, Umran Malik , Shivam Mavi, Mukesh Kumar.

India’s Sri Lanka ODI squad:Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul (week), Ishan Kishan (week), Hardik Pandya (VC), Washington Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Axar Patel, Mohd. Shami, Mohd. Siraj, Umran Malik, Arshdeep Singh.

with PTI input

topics mentioned in this article

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *