Mallikarjun Kharge vs Shashi Tharoor in today’s Congressional poll: 10 points – Flying Journals

Mallikarjun Kharge vs Shashi Tharoor in today's Congressional poll: 10 points

More than 9,000 state legislature committee leaders are expected to vote in the election.

New Delhi:
Congress will welcome its first non-Gandhi leader in more than 20 years as Malikajon Harg and Shahi Tharoor face off in today’s party elections. While no Gandhis are running, Mr Harg is seen as an “approved” candidate.

Here’s your 10-point cheat sheet in this big story:

  1. Both Shashi Tharoor and Mallikarjun Kharge reiterated Gandhi’s disengagement. But Mr Tharoor pointed to what he called “disparities in treatment”, “prejudice” and an “unlevel playing field”.

  2. He said the head of state was “not around” when he visited states to campaign. But in many places, the state assembly president and the legislature party “welcome Mallikarjun Kharge, sit with him…I’m not complaining, but don’t you see the difference?” Mr Tharoor told reporters.

  3. Mr Kharge has declared that he believes in “collective decision-making” and will accept “guidance” from Gandhi. “They have done good things for the country. Their advice will benefit the party … so I will definitely seek their advice and support. There is nothing to be ashamed of,” he said.

  4. After Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot – initially seen as the front-runner – withdrew from the race, Mr Harg, pushed by central leaders, submitted his nomination at the 11th hour.

  5. Mr Gehlot made the announcement a day before nomination applications closed. His decision came after a meeting with Sonia Gandhi as his loyalist MLA openly revolted to prevent his arch-rival Sachin Airman from succeeding him in the top job in Rajasthan.

  6. Mr Glotter, who initially hoped to hold the top job in the party at the same time as a state job, announced at one point that he could “hold three positions”. But after Rahul Gandhi announced that the party would follow the “one man, one office” rule, he had to abandon the idea.

  7. The elections come three years after Mr Gandhi resigned from the top job following his second consecutive defeat in Congress in 2019. The 52-year-old “Bharat Jodo” Yatra, who currently leads the party, has steadfastly refused to return to the presidency despite relentless pressure from some leaders.

  8. Sonia Gandhi, who had stepped back from her party duties, was persuaded to return as interim leader in August 2019. But a string of parliamentary failures in the states has sparked calls for organizational reform from several leaders, including the Group of 27 to which Shashi Tharoor belongs.

  9. The promised elections have long come. At the same time, a string of senior leaders headed for the exit. The list includes Ghulam Nabi Azad, Kapil Sibal, Amarinder Singh, Sunil Jakhar, RPN Singh and Ashwani Kumar. Some who quit claimed Mr Gandhi was an unofficial decision maker and complained that the small circle around him was calling the shots.

  10. More than 9,000 state legislature committee leaders are expected to vote today in what will be the 137-year-old party’s sixth actual election since independence. Sonia Gandhi and Rahul Gandhi have no opposition in every election.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *